OUR RESPONSE TO COVID-19: We continue to offer our services

At Family Services of Greater Vancouver, the health and safety of our staff and clients is paramount.

In order to do our part in flattening the curve of COVID-19 infection in Canada, we are practicing social isolation and have closed most of our physical locations.

In order to continue to serve our clients, we have moved as many services as possible to over-the-phone and digital meetings.

SERVICE UPDATES

MARCH 24, 2020

All Family Services office locations (in Vancouver, New Westminster and Surrey) are temporarily closed and offering services remotely.  Some Directions Youth Services locations remain open. Please see below for more information about each of our programs.

CARING NEIGHBOURS and FINANCIAL EMPOWERMENT

Our Caring Neighbours community kitchens and programs in Richmond and New Westminster are temporarily in order to practice social isolation.

Our-on-one financial coaching is still available over the phone or online, and we can assist you with the latest information about provincial and federal benefits you may be able to access during COVID-19.

For more information please contact:
New Westminster programs:  Maylen Crespo mcrespo@fsgv.ca
Richmond programs: Bilquis Hirani bhirani@fsgv.ca
Financial Empowerment coaching and information : Murray Baker mbaker@fsgv.ca

DIRECTIONS YOUTH SERVICES

Our 24/7/365 Drop-In Services Centre is currently operating under reduced hours. Our Street Youth Job Action and Detox programs are temporarily closed, but our shelter programs, emergency housing, and supportive housing programs remain open. For more information, please visit our Directions website for their COVID-19 response.

VICTIM SERVICES

Our victim service workers continue to work with and support their clients from home and over the phone.

For more information please contact:
Kiran Toor
Manager, Victim Services
M 604 360 3235 ktoor@fsgv.ca

VANCOUVER FAMILY PRESERVATION AND REUNIFICATION SERVICES

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients. Our office at 4103 Fraser Street is temporarily closed.

For more information, please contact: Jim Staton (jstaton@fsgv.ca) and Susan Walker (swalker@fsgv.ca).

FOSTER FAMILY SUPPORT SERVICES

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.
Our office at 201 – 1638 E Broadway is temporarily closed.
For more information, please contact: Jim Staton (jstaton@fsgv.ca).

PROJECT PARENT BURNABY/NEW WESTMINSTER

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.
Our office at 321 Sixth Street in New Westminster is temporarily closed.
For more information, please contact: Shabniz Kurji (skurji@fsgv.ca).

PARENT-TEEN MEDIATION

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.
Our office at 321 Sixth Street in New Westminster is temporarily closed. 
For more information please contact: Shabniz Kurji (skurji@fsgv.ca).

EARLY CHILDHOOD COMMUNITY CONSULTANT

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.
For more information please contact: Shabniz Kurji (skurji@fsgv.ca).

PROJECT PARENT FRASER SOUTH

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.
Our office at #12 – 15355 102A Avenue, Surrey is temporarily closed. 
For more information, please contact: Tues – Fri, Michelle Crowley (mcrowley@fsgv.ca); Mondays, Sonia Bilkhu (sbilkhu@fsgv.ca).

PRIYD/CYSN

While our offices remain closed, we are offering optional phone support to our clients.
For more information, please contact:
Burnaby New Westminster – Brianna Reilly (breilly@fsgv.ca)
Richmond and Family Preservation – Trudy Blair (tblair@fsgv.ca)
Vancouver – Wilson Wong (wswong@fsgv.ca)

FSEAP

We continue to provide 24/7 phone intake and counselling support, and our full range of counselling and work-life services. All face-to-face counselling sessions offered at our fseap offices are being rescheduled as telephone or video sessions for the next 30 days. If you are currently seeing a counsellor in the community at a location other than fseap offices, you can contact them directly to confirm your next session, or call our Care Centre for support.

In line with this, our fseap facilities in Vancouver, Richmond and Whitehorse will be closed to in-person counselling, and administrative staff will be working from home. Our Account Management and Management team is working remotely with full access to phones, emails, and normal communications, and meeting daily to monitor the situation.

We are anticipating these changes be in effect for the next 30 days, but will be assessing the situations on an ongoing basis.

To access EFAP services or for more information call:
Toll Free 24/7: 1-800-667-0993
Metro Vancouver: 604-732-6933
EAP Program Services: carecentre@fsgv.ca

Administrative and Account Management: reception301@fsgv.ca

COUNSELLING AND SPECIALIZED TRAUMA SUPPORTS

We are currently providing phone and digital meeting services to our clients.

For further information please contact:
Specialized Trauma Programs (SAIP, STV, PEACE): specializedtraumaservices@fsgv.ca;
604 874 2938 X 4141

Healthy Connections. Please contact 604 874 2938, x 4162 or email kfleming@fsgv.ca

 

———————–

We look forward to reopening our programs and locations as soon as safely possible. Please continue to practice social isolation, proper infection-prevention hygiene, and let’s always continue to support one another. Together, we will get through this.

For the latest information on COVID-19 in BC, please visit Vancouver Coastal Health and the BC Centre for Disease Control.

Become a monthly donor, support your neighbours in need.

DONATE NOW